What’s the difference between “blocked time” and “vacation”?
“Blocking” and “vacation” are slightly different and should be used for different situations.
The are both settings that can be applied on top of “regular available time”. They can not be applied on top of “irregular available time” and they can not be overlapping eachother (For example: you can’t set up a vacation if there are blocked out times during the vacation period. You would have to delete the blocked time first.)
If you block time, the available time will no longer appear as a selection for the student, but they can still choose other available times.
Please note: If you “allow exceptions” in your schedule students will be able to send you lesson requests for blocked times. This is used deliberately in order to reserve times for certain students. However, students will see the following message and are only advised to proceed if they have talked to you about booking the blocked time slot beforehand.
Setting up a “vacation” effectively closes your schedule for the duration of the vacation, so students are not able to send you any requests while the vacation is active. Setting up vacation is recommended for time periods of more than 24 hours. It is important to set up vacation as ongoing time slots without any break in between.
Please note: The reaction period for any new request is 72 hours. If you are not able to take new lesson requests, check your emails for new requests or teach for more than 72 hours you should set up a vacation in order to avoid missing requests. If a request expires after 72 hours (or after the lesson time selected by the student has passed) the tutor’s profile will be hidden to avoid further expired requests. The profile will only be reopened after the admin was able to confirm that the tutor is able to accept new lesson requests again.